The Art of Cooking a Great Steak…….

I have spent all of my adult life cooking in commercial kitchens, in the 27 years of standing in front of stoves I have cooked literally thousands of steaks so I guess that qualifies me to speak with authority? In fact, in one restaurant I worked at we had our own dry ageing room and a full time onsite butcher, here it wouldn’t be unusual to cook 600-800 steaks in a week!

For those who like your steaks well done this is not really the blog for you and there are only really two options for you here: either learn to be more adventurous and eat steak as it should be eaten, or start thinking about a plant based diet for your future. It would serve you better and be more respectful to those animals and the people who rear them, you’d also be doing every chef that ever lived a favour; as a small part of us most surely dies when we have to scorch and press every last bit of juice out of steak and our hearts sink as we look at the sad flattened grey meat on the plate in front of us.

Now I know this won’t be for everyone and some will disagree, but bare with me here I have done my time on the line and have cooked every steak there is to cook, every way a person has wanted it done, whether or not I agreed with it personally-it was my job and my bosses didn’t worry too much as long as the customer paid.

But nowadays more often than not people have come around to my way of thinking; chefs, bosses and thankfully customers too. In my opinion the Tuscan way of preparing and cooking steak is the best and should be tried at least once in any carnivores lifetime.

Bistecca Fiorentina

The Tuscans believe as I do, that there is a real art to cooking great steak. First thing is they believe that it has to be rare, not just blushing but very, very rare. It must require chewing slowly and pensively savouring each and every mouthful, it’s rather primal and should be instinctively enjoyed just as our ancestors would of experienced it. In Tuscany most Trattoria worth their salt would refuse to serve it any other way and would have signs warning tourists not to even bother asking for well done. It really is a dishonour for this beautifully flavoursome meat to be cooked any other way than rare.

Secondly the Bistecca must be a T-bone, with the tender fillet that makes up a third of the steak attached by bone to the Sirloin, the steak must be at least two fingers thick, Italians like to measure thinks with hands and fingers, I like that.

The final rule with Bistecca is that it’s all about the meat, no sauce required here! The only thing it requires is good quality olive oil, sea salt flakes and may be a twist of black pepper at the end of cooking, don’t be tempted to add pepper in the beginning as the searing heat required to cook the steak properly will burn the pepper making it bitter.

Rules for cooking the best steak ever:

  1. Start with the best meat you can afford, always from an independent butcher or better still from a farm shop butchery, don’t bother with supermarkets at all.
  2. Always begin with the steak at room temperature, this small step will make a huge difference and go along way to improving your steak cookery and overall eating pleasure.
  3. Heat your griddle or pan until it is smoking hot, open all doors and windows if need be, if you worried about smoke alarms going off.
  4. Always oil the meat not the pan, season with large crystal sea salt and refrain from using black pepper until the meat is out of the pan.
  5. Never overcrowd the pan, invest in a good quality heavy based pan that’s big enough to fit two large steaks side by side.
  6. Don’t turn the steak too early, Ever! Have a little peak of one corner but don’t you dare turn it until it’s ready, this is dictated by the colour which should be crisp and dark brown caramel but not black.
  • 7. Last but definitely not least is REST, REST, REST! A minimum of 5 minutes for a large steak in a warm place then enjoy…….
  • A guideline for cooking a steak 2 fingers thick is as follows:
    • Blue 1 1/2 minutes each side then rest
      Rare 2 minutes each side then rest
      Medium rare 2 1/2 minutes each side then rest
      Medium 3 minutes each side then rest

    Published by fullerflavour

    Andrew Addis-Fuller: I have been a chef working in the industry for the past 24 years. In this time I have had the privledge to work alongside some very talented people and learn from them. I was a pastry chef at Langoed Hall when they gained their first Michelin star, spent time in the kitchen of the 3 Michelin star chef Michel Bras at his restaurant in Laguiole, France. I have represented my native Wales in international culinary competitions at home and in France. I am a member of the Culinary Association Wales and an associate member of the Welsh Culinary Team, I mentor young chefs for competition cooking. My food has seen praise from top food critics including a favourable write up by the late Michal Winner in his Sunday Times column Winner's Dinners. He said my food was "Historic, and as good a meal as I've ever eaten". In 2004 I completed my teaching degree and started my business Fuller Flavour. The company of Fuller Flavour has its own manufacturing element to the business, providing products to caterers, including cold cutting pies, pates and terrines, bespoke desserts and pastries. At Fuller Flavour we are now involved with food consultancy & training, product development and the professional training of chefs. Above all Fuller Flavour is about being passionate about good food and how it is produced. I encourage businesses to shop local and seasonally which is reflected in all my menus. I put a real emphasis on creating added value and sense of place, I train all my chefs in this way. I'm interested in regional food history and cultural practices and I've spent the past 5 years developing cured meat products & recipes, for a new venture. I am Head Chef at The Penycae Inn working with Anthony Christopher helping to develop his business.

    One thought on “The Art of Cooking a Great Steak…….

    Leave a comment